top of page

Making the jump into nursing school


In November 2015 I gave birth to my first child. Since then, my priorities changed for the better. I no longer was satisfied with my job. I needed more financial stability for the future of my family.

There are times in your life that you make a decision, jump feet first, don't look back, do what it takes. This was one of those times. I enrolled myself into nursing school.

My first prerequisite class was in June 2016, my son was only 7 months old. I was even working full time. Yes, I was tired and had no social life. I had made this decision. I knew it wasn't going to be easy; no one was going to hand me a nursing degree on a platter. Keep going, don't stop is what I repeated in my head.

Fast forward to today. I have 6 months left in nursing school. I am on maternity leave from work; yes I still have a job, part time though. Oh and that maternity leave . . . I welcomed my second child in June 2018. I was pregnant right in the middle of nursing school; no not really planned, but "Life finds a way."

Stayed tuned for more of my story.


bottom of page