top of page

March Student Interview: Meet "AK" the Student Research Fellow from the School of Business

Moms and Dads Club at National University will be frequently interviewing adult learners at NU to learn more about how they manage to balance their daily responsibilities, life, and studies at NU. We will start off the month of March by featuring a brilliant and diligent graduate student who currently works at the NU Library. Akinyemi Fayankinnu, commonly known as "AK" sat down with me and discussed how he gets things done, handles family responsibilities, and still manages to excel at his studies despite his rigorous schedule. His colleagues often describe him as a reliable, diligent, creative, witty, and dedicated team member. AK does not hesitate to lend a helping hand to other SRF's and colleagues when the need arises. This is AK's story...

AK collaborating with a colleague at the Makerspace Room at the NU Library

DNC: Please introduce yourself to the readers

AK: My name is Akinyemi Fayankinnu, a graduate student. I am currently pursuing a Master of Science in Business Analytics. Also, I am a Student Research Fellow (SOBM) at the NU Library in San Diego, CA.

DNC: How do you motivate yourself to complete a goal?

AK: I usually motivate myself by breaking down the goal into a set of smaller tasks. This helps to improve my focus and makes it easier to monitor my daily progress.

DNC: What are the current responsibilities and obligations in your life?

AK: In addition to being a graduate student, I hold two part-time jobs. I also have a young son. I am currently working on my capstone project and have just completed my first capstone class.

AK at the Makerspace Room researching more on 3D printing

DNC: How do you relax and take time for yourself when you are not studying?

AK: I like to go on long walks whenever I can. This helps me de-stress and do some reflecting.

NU SRF Team walk 2018-2019

DNC: What organizational system do you generally use to accomplish your goals?

AK: I use a to-do list and a calendar to stay organized on a daily basis.

DNC: How do you achieve your educational goals?

AK: I try not to fall behind on the coursework and assignments. By completing the assigned tasks for each week on time, I can start each week on a clean slate.

DNC: How can keeping an up-to-date calendar benefit you while you’re in school?

AK: Keeping an up-to-date calendar helps me schedule meetings several weeks in advance. It also helps me spot potential schedule conflicts and resolve them before they become an issue.

DNC: What challenges do you anticipate in managing work, school, family responsibilities, and a social life?

AK: I anticipate that there will be a lot of schedule conflicts for the duration of my studies. I have missed a couple of weddings already due to work and school commitments. Combining graduate studies with two jobs leaves me time for an active social life.

DNC: Any words of advice you may have for our readers who are trying to decide whether to return to school as adult learners?

AK: I’d say go for it. It has been a challenging but fulfilling experience for me.


bottom of page