top of page

February Spotlight: Meet Dr. Wanyama, a Pharmacist and Adult Learner in Kenya


During my recent trip to Nairobi, Kenya to conduct Breast Cancer Care at Kenyatta National Hospital in Kenya, I got an opportunity to sit down and chat with Dr. Anne Bernice Wanyama, a seasoned Pharmacist who is also a dedicated parent and adult learner. She invited me to share a meal with her while we discussed about how she manages to find the right balance while pursuing graduate education in Kenya. This is her story...

MDC@NU: Please introduce yourself to the readers

My name is Anne Bernice Wanyama. I am a pharmacist by profession and I am currently practicing in a Tertiary hospital in Nairobi, Kenya. I am a mother of an 11 year old boy and I am also pursuing a Master in Business Administration (MBA)-Strategy. I attend my classes in the evenings.

MDC@NU: How do you motivate yourself to complete a goal?

I first assess the workload that I have by listing down all the tasks that I need to perform. I rank them in order of priority and attach timelines. I check off every accomplished task. Whenever I look at the list, I encourage myself to ensure all items are struck off my list, which works for me.

MDC@NU: What are the current responsibilities and obligations in your life?

Parenting-Raising my son as a single parent

Career-I am a pharmacy operations manager. I have to ensure smooth operations in my department, respond to customer complaints, redesign processes and formulate policies to ensure smooth operations and increased customer satisfaction

Church-I am part of the leadership team in the ladies fellowship in my local church

Church service-I am a worship leader in a local church

Education-I am currently pursuing a Master in Business Administration (MBA)-Strategy. I am in my final coursework semester before I embark on my research project

MDC@NU: How do you relax and take time for yourself?

I love listening to music, motivational talks, cooking, swimming and going for nature walks.

MDC@NU: What organizational system do you generally use to accomplish your goals?

SMART Goal Setting-I first consider what I want to achieve, and then commit to it. Set SMART (specific, measureable, attainable, relevant and time-bound) goals that motivate me and write them down to make them feel tangible. I then plan the steps I must take to realize my goals, and cross off each one as I work through them. A work planner really helps me a lot to manage my documentation as I seek to accomplish my goals.

MDC@NU: How do you achieve your educational goals?

I have discovered that designing a study timetable and committing to it helps me achieve my educational goals.

MDC@NU: How can keeping an up-to-date calendar benefit you while you’re in school?

It helps me manage my time wisely and address unaccomplished tasks. With better time management, I am able to do my school assignments in good time.

MDC@NU: What challenges do you anticipate in learning to manage work, school, family responsibilities, and a social life?

Striking a balance to ensure one aspect does not override the others.

MDC@NU: Any words of advice you may have for our readers who are trying to decide whether to return to school as adult learners?

I encourage anyone considering returning to school as an adult learner to do so. The benefits are numerous and are as follows:

  • Creates an opportunity to take up challenges that you would have otherwise not taken

  • Offers networking opportunities with the other students in various fields

  • Offers opportunity for promotions and career advancement


bottom of page