top of page

July 2019: Nursing Student Spotlight

MDC@NU is highlighting Desiree Caldwell, a NU Scholar who is a nursing student and very active club member. She also enjoys spending time with her family and being involved in Omega Nu club activities. Desiree excels in offering patient-centered care, multi-tasking, and communicating. She is proactive and diligent. I had the opportunity to ask Desiree about the vital role she assumed so efficiently at last month's summer fit fest despite her incredibly busy schedule. Find out how she contributed to its success.

MDC@NU: Tell us about yourself. What do you like to do in your spare time?

DC: Currently, as a mother, nursing student, NU Scholar, and Outreach Officer for Planetree, I don’t really have spare time. What I used to enjoy and will again someday is: hiking, mountain biking, reading (novels mostly), games with my family and friends, movies, and I would occasionally indulge in a funky reality T.V. show.

MDC@NU: As a NU Scholar, how do you balance your school, work, and family responsibilities?

DC: To be honest, I just try and stay as organized as possible. I write down all the assignments I have, when they are due, and then I assign a “day off” day to a particular assignment. As far as family responsibilities, this has been a struggle. Both of my children see doctors and have frequent medical appointments. I just have to be really organized and structured. I have to stay up late, get up early, and prioritize assignments.

MDC@NU: Please tell us a bit about the role you play in Omega Nu.

DC: I enjoy Omega Nu, and I am happy to help any of the members with any projects that they have.

MDC@NU: Please tell us about the most recent Omega Nu Summer Fit-Fest event.

DC: The Summer Fit Fest was a great community day that encouraged people of all ages to get up and get active. There were lots activities, arts and crafts, healthy eating booths, and hands only CPR.

MDC@NU: Which activity did you facilitate at the event, and how important is it in the community?

DC: I was able to find Mary Murphy for the hands only CPR.

MDC@NU: How do you successfully communicate with your audience while facilitating an activity?

DC: I had help here. It was a demonstration with a teach back opportunity.

MDC@NU: What helped you succeed in planning this event?

DC: Pure luck. I was struggling to locate someone to help me, and I found Mary in an article in the union tribune from 2015 that listed her phone number. I called it, and she said she would help!

MDC@NU: What strategies do you use for dealing with event planning stress?

DC: Deep breathing, meditation, staying organized, and planning ahead as much as possible.

MDC@NU: In your opinion, did the activity you were leading meet its objectives?

DC: Yes, we taught people of all ages how to do CPR. Perhaps one of those people will save a life one day.

MDC@NU: Which new health and wellness activities would you like to see covered at future Omega Nu club events?

DC: I personally would love a step team!


bottom of page